YRCA 2013 Finale and 2014 Begins

Okay, so the 2013 winners are:

Junior – Lost Hero by Rick Riordan

Intermediate – Smile by Raina Telgemeier

Senior – Crazy by Han Nolan

So, no surprises with the first two really, but I didn’t see Crazy coming. I didn’t get around to reading it, though, so I must have missed something. I had heard mixed things about it from staff members and none of the teens I talk to had read it so it must have appealed to a different crowd. It’s funny how sometimes they sneak up on you sometimes. It’s definitely staying on my “to read” list and hopefully I get to it in the near future.

On a really positive note, the number of votes from all of PNLA and from our own city has been steadily decreasing for the last few years but this year our city’s votes more than doubled with over 20,000! In past years, we accounted for almost half of the total votes and usually whoever we vote for wins but this year our number one for Intermediate was Halo (by a small margin over Smile) but Smile won so I’m hoping that means there was an increase in votes from the other provinces/states/cities. Let’s keep this awesome program going!

So on to the most exciting part of this blog: the new nominees are out! Follow the link to see the complete list. So, yay, new books to get kids excited about. I’ve already read seven of them and, coincidentally, we were reading one of them in the Teen Book Club that very month. I am a little confused by some of the nominees though. Some years past, I’m not sure how long ago, PNLA decided that sequels were not eligible to be nominated. I’ve heard it had to do with giving other books a chance (apparently Harry Potter dominated for a few years) but that could be wrong. Anyway, when we were sending in noms for the long lists, that was still a rule but, low and behold, sequels outnumber firsts and one-offs on the short lists. I’d be interested in finding out why they decided to allow them again. I’m sure it was part of an attempt to attract more interest from the kids but my only concern is that if a kid hasn’t started the series yet they may not be inclined to read the book that’s actually nominated. In some cases, it’s the second book in series but more than one of them the book is even further along, like Angel which is the seventh book in the Maximum Ride series. We’ll see how it works out, I guess.

What I’m reading right now: The Grand Tour or The Purloined Coronation Regalia by Patricia C. Wrede and Caroline Stevermer and Going Postal audiobook by Terry Pratchett.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

