YRCA 2013: Big Nate: In a Class By Himself

 Big Nate: In a Class by Himself by Lincoln Peirce is a fun book about a teenage boy getting in trouble in school by trying to stand out. It’s a quick, easy read done in the same text/graphic novel hybrid as Diary of a Wimpy Kid. That being said, I couldn’t help but keep comparing this book to Origami Yoda. There are some similarities in character types and basic format and… I just really enjoyed OY and BN just didn’t seem as clever. But, on the other hand, I know a lot of kids who love this a series and I have a feeling that it gets funnier in later books. Anywho, fun book but not my favourite.

Will this book win the Junior Division of YRCA? Possibly.  I get the feeling that it’s going to be Big Nate and Origami Yoda duking it out.

What I’m reading right now: Lord of the Vampires by Gena Showalter, Ship Breaker by Paolo Bacigalupi.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

