YRCA 2013 Review: 13 Treasures

After a long break, I continue the YRCA review with 13 Treasures by Michelle Harrison. I totally blame the Olympics, by the way. They’ve kind of taken up most of my downtime. As it is, I’m writing this during the Closing Ceremonies.

Tanya can see fairies. Unfortunately, no one else in her life can and this has gotten her into a lot of trouble in her life. In exasperation, her mother sends her to stay with her grandmother for the summer. She doesn’t get along with her eccentric grandmother so it promises to be a terrible summer. It gets more interesting when she discovers that children have been going missing. You can see where this going: changelings. But it’s more than that. I won’t go into it because half of the fun of this book is discovering things along with Tanya.

It took me a couple of months to read this book, not because it was bad or anything but I just got distracted by books that were coming up due or that I was super excited about and then I just kind of forgot about it. So when I finally got back to it, I was only about a third of the way into it. This was probably a good thing because I had forgotten some of the details. It was such a quick read though, that I only took me a couple of days to finish it and I was reading another book at the same time.

I enjoyed this book. At the beginning, I didn’t think I’d continue after this book but by the end I started thinking I might. And I still might but I’m not in any particular hurry. Will this book will win the Junior Division of YRCA? I doubt it. There are just way too many really strong contenders in this category.

What I’m reading now: Incarceron by Catherine Fisher audiobook and The Golden Lily by Richelle Mead.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

