YRCA Ends and Begins

So, the winners of the 2012 YRCA were announced about a week ago and the nominees for 2013 came out a few weeks before that. I totally predicted all the winners except the Senior Division. For Junior, I figured it would be either Scat or 11 Birthdays but, judging by the votes that I saw coming in, I was leaning towards the latter so I called that one. For Intermediate, well… there wasn’t really much question about that one. Not there weren’t other really awesome books in that category, but The Maze Runner was really good and incredibly popular. It wasn’t Hunger Games popular, like last year, but none of the other books had as big a wait list. For Senior, I was less sure. I was really hoping that Lockdown would win because it was so awesome it hurts. I can see why Shiver won; it’s a romance (a lot of the voters are girls, especially for the older divisions) and it’s a paranormal romance with werewolves. Although the teen paranormal romance mania is slowly fading away, it still pops it’s head up every once and awhile. For a look at the complete list of nominees from the closing YRCA season, go here: http://www.pnla.org/yrca/2012nominees.html.

We start promoting the next year’s YRCA nominees to the schools and in the branch in the fall but I’m trying to read as many of them before then so that I can know the books before I talk about them. Before the list had come out I had already read four of the titles: The Lost Hero, Theodore Boone: Kid Lawyer, The Red Pyramid, and Smile. This was less than last year but two of them are Junior titles which is two more than I read in that category than last year. Since the list came out I have read three more: The Strange Case of Origami Yoda, Heist Society, and Matched. My goal is going to be to blog about all the titles that I read. Notice that I didn’t say all the YRCA titles. In ideal world, I would read them all but I’m sticking with my book philosophy: life is too short to read books that you’re not enjoying. So I’m going to be optimistic and try them all. It may be a problem of finding the time too. I have a ton of next books in series that I’m waiting for that will probably all come at the same time so we shall see. Here’s hoping.

So I’ll start the more specific blogs next time. I’m way too tired right now.

What I’m reading right now: Pirate Penguin vs. Ninja Chicken: Troublems with Frenemies by Ray Friesen, The Throne of Fire audiobook by Rick Riordan, Howl’s Moving Castle audiobook by Dianna Wynne Jones and The Thief by Megan Whalen Turner.

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

