Death du Jour

I recently finished Death du Jourby Kathy Reichs and I enjoyed it muchly. I had been intending to read this series and then I received the first Temperance Brennan novel, Déjà Dead, for Christmas last year. So good!

The best part of the book for me (aside from the great writing) is that it takes place in Montreal. I’ve always wanted to go there myself but haven’t quite gotten around to it. It was also really interesting see Canada, and francophone Canada at that, from an American perspective in a realistic way. The author actually lived there herself so it feels really genuine and non-patronizing. The second book also has an interesting contrast between snowy, cold Quebec and hot, sweaty North Carolina. It’s  fun to see Ryan just as out of his element in North Carolina as Tempe is sometimes in Quebec.

The only thing that kind of bothered me about the first book was the constant translating of the french in the book, no matter how basic. Okay, so I took french in school and was semi-fluent at one time so maybe I’m being overly sensitive. She, or possibly an editor, was probably doing it for all the people who have no french background but I think some of it was self explanatory. I noticed that the translating was more subtle in the next book so maybe they realized that. That being said, the books were gritty and thrilling, yet have a very personal feel thanks to the character of Tempe. I’m really glad that she is not as socially awkward as Bones is on the show. That would have been way too cartoonish.

Anyway, I’m definitely going to read the next one.

What I’m reading right now: Watch on audiobook, Gregor and the Code of the Claw on audiobook, and The Lost Hero by Rick Riordan.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

