Witchy Sisters

I finally got around to reading the only Drake Sisters book that I hadn’t read yet. The series is one of my favourites by Christine Feehan. I love all her books but these books and the Ghostwalkers were the first ones I started to buy because I couldn’t wait for the library to get them. Oddly enough, it was the first story, “Magic in the Wind” that I hadn’t read yet and I still don’t actually own it. Because it’s a short story, I’ll have to find one of the books that it’s in. I may have to buy the collection book with Oceans of Fire in it, although I already own it.  Apparently, it was available by itself at one point but now it’s out of print. That sucks.

Anyway, what’s the series about? It’s about seven sisters who have special witchlike powers (although they never call themselves witches). Each has her own individual power in addition to the general stuff. They live in a magic house on a cliff in a small town where everyone knows them and is protective of them. The sisters are all celebrities or do dangerous government work, which leads them into dangerous situations during which they meet the man destined to be their true love. The stories could have been incredibly corny or shallow plotwise and I probably still would have enjoyed them but I think what I love about Christine Feehan’s books is the harder edge to them. She is not afraid to have something really horrible happen to her characters. For example, one of the sisters gets slashed across the face with knives and is permanently  scarred, another is actually raped during the course of her book, and some of the men were tortured. After all of that though, the ending is happy and no one is randomly killed off. Just the way I like it.  I realize that this is not really new, especially for the paranormal romance genre but she just does it so well.

Now the Drake sisters are all engaged or married, so what’s next? Well, one of the sisters’s men is the seventh son of a seventh son that was ripped from his family as a child and all the brothers had powers as well and were trained as assasins and secret Russian agents. The new series already started with one of those brothers (who actually appeared in Elle’s story) coming to Sea Haven and hooking up with a woman who has several close friends (who she considers sisters) that she lives with. They all apparently have powers too and I’m assuming that their true loves will be Prakenskii brothers . The first book was really good and I can’t wait for the next one.

What I’m reading right now: Wake audiobook, Gregor and the Code of the Claw audiobook, and Ultimate Avengers: Crime and Punishment by Mark Millar.


Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s