Choose-Your-Own Adventure Comic

Okay, so I know that this isn’t exactly a new concept. In fact, Meanwhile by Jason Shiga is apparently a complete graphic novel done in this style. I have yet to read that one but it’s on my list.

Anyway, I was reading volume 3 of the Unwritten and, to my surprise and delight, there was a whole chapter done this way about two thirds of the way through the volume. At first it seemed kind of random but it starts to make sense when you consider that it explains the background of the character Lizzie Hexam. The choices of various paths at certain points in the story mirror the different ways that other characters perceive what was happening to Lizzie. Although the information that the chapter was conveying was fairly ambiguous and complex at points, not to mention really important to the main storyline, the way it was told was simple enough to work with the format. And it totally blew my mind.

It also made me remember why I had a love/hate relationship with Choose-your-own adventure books as a kid. While I have always loved the idea of multiple paths and plots in a story, I always wanted to read them all which can be nearly impossible. I used to get really frustrated with them and give up. Thank God this was only one chapter. At the end, I did go back and read the few pages that I missed.

What I’m reading right now: Library Wars: Love & War vol. 4 by Kiiro Yumi, City of Fallen Angels (I’m half way through), Wake audiobook and Gregor and the Code of the Claw audiobook.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

