I’m In Love…

… with the Gregor the Overlander series on audiobook.  I had started listening to audiobooks while I was on checkin and got completely addicted. I had been intending to read the series for a while, even before I read the Hunger Games series but hadn’t gotten around to it so when I saw the first book on the juv shelving cart, I knew it was fate (or probably just coincidence). If you’re not familiar with the series, this is the basic premis of the books: while babysitting his baby sister Boots, 11-year-old Gregor follows her into a vent in their apartment’s laundry room and finds himself falling into a secret underground world. In this world Gregor discovers two things; that he plays a part in the ancient prophecies of the humans who settled there long ago and that his father, who went missing two years ago, had fallen into the Underland as well and has been held captive by the Rats. As the series goes on Gregor goes home and comes back a few times, there are more prophecies and you can tell that the story is building towards something major.

Anyway, I just finished listening to Gregor and the Marks of Secret and luckily our had the next one on shelf. The whole series is narrated by Paul Boehmer and it took me a little bit to get used to his style but I really enjoyed him, especially when he does Boots’s voice. I may look him up to see if he’s done anymore audiobooks.

This is the last Gregor book coming up and I’m going to be sad when it’s over, although I’m hoping she didn’t do a mass killing off of characters at the end like she did in Mockingjay. That being said, a lot characters have died already. Oh well, here’s hoping.

What I’m reading right now: The Forest of Hands and Teeth (I’m almost done), Wake on audiobook, The Unwritten vol 3: Dead Man’s Knock  by Mike Carey, and City of Fallen Angels by Cassandra Clare.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

