Why Patricia Briggs and Jim Butcher must be the same person.

Okay, so they clearly aren’t the same person but as I was reading Grave Peril a few weeks back I was struck by how similar the Mercy Thompson series and the Dresden Files series are. In a good way. I had read Silver Borne not very long before so it was still fresh in my mind.

The books of both series are fast paced thrillers in well developed urban fantasy worlds. Both are mysteries in their own way. Both are written in first person. The biggest similarities, in my mind are in regards to the main characters, Mercy Thompson and Harry Dresden. Both characters are loners who have isolated themselves from their past (at least at the beginning of the series). Both characters have some emotional and physical scars (Harry more than Mercy on this one). Both have the same kinds of magical creature friends; werewolves, vampires, fae. Both characters drive VW Bugs. I just love that they both have this really snarky yet optimistic attitudes that keep them going through all the numerous almost dying experiences and keep them going after answers with great determination. I supose that there are a plethora of other series that could fit the same description (maybe not the VW Bug though) but I feel like there is something about these two in particular that link them in my mind. It could be the writing styles, it could be the characters, but I do know that I can’t pick up a Mercy book without thinking about Dresden and vice versa.

God, I love them.

What I’m reading right now: The Forest of Hands and Teeth still, Royal’s Bride by Kat Martin, Gregor and the Marks of Secret by Suzanne Collins on audiobook, and Wake by Robert J. Sawyer on audiobook.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

